rain drops Lingered
on unkempt grass:
field of Wet Light,
half moon and bare feet
splattered reflected spots.

pajama legs Drenched
my feet burned. Sloshed
through the mud
top speed fear squashed
parents left asleep.

my eyes Steamed and Bounced,
I smelled destiny
like Honeysuckle

blur of dandelions, by a wall
of trees She waited,
dirty with wisdom; her white tail
beat the earth.

a wolf, my teacher:
her Massive paws matched
the Rapid movement of my Wet feet.
her fur smelled like abandoned
books Roots flattened
Tree limbs gave way.
trumpet calls of birds and frogs:
Staccato and Grand. chest ruptured
Ached with short breaths, Embraced
my monthly homecoming lesson.

the wolf and I Collapsed
on soft white dirt, a clearing,
her silver head on my lap,
my head on her back.
a black stream Hummed
calm tones by my toes.
night calls faded…

her fur
Thick with years, Tangled fates, Knotted truth.
her voice
slow and melodious, Sonorous Rumble.

her words:
I Leave you tonight.
my lessons Don’t end here.
carry this secret
heritage: birds and dogs,
your brothers; the wind,
your sister; all the world’s
waters will Forever whisper to you
my words. the woods
will Always welcome you.
Your soul lives Here.

moonlight Snaked
through reverent trees
and stirred dirt by the stream,
Thick and Blinding. I felt
Heavy as she ascended the twister,
a solid void.
she asked that I Chant
her Last Words and never forget.

these words are my Purpose.
I hear them still
in the Water.
clouds Burst that night.
I sang her words to the Vanishing
moon, Rain on my throat:

Observe and record.
Observe and record.

